h1

JogBlog: Week 9, Day 3 (!!!)

January 1, 2010

Happy New Year, everyone!

Are you awake? Did you stay up all night and watch that guy with the last name that sounds like a lunch meat jump his car across some water onto a barge and set some record? Yeah. He had to get up to 93 mph on his approach in order to do it… something like that. He had 900 feet of lead-up space to gun his car fast enough to make the jump and not crash into the water. And he did it!

Today I did not jump any rivers, and I definitely did not go 93 mph, but I did accomplish one thing: I completed week 9 of the Couch-to-5K program. Nine weeks, 27 workouts.

I won’t even go into the details of the run today, except this synopsis: it was COLD… I jogged… I hate the big hill… I forced myself not to stop on at least two occasions… I felt pretty good on a couple other occasions… I cleared two miles and thought, if it wasn’t so cold and so hilly around here, I might run farther… I encountered My Personal Mental Block which rises like a wall before me at about 2.5 miles… I stopped jogging and after checking my time I saw that I had indeed run a little over 30 minutes… and thus ended Week 9, Day 3.

My running pace is, has been, and seems to remain for the immediate future, almost exactly 5mph.

And now, even though I am by no means the valedictorian of my C25K graduating class, I would like to deliver a very special commencement address to each of us who are moving our tassels from one side of the mortarboard to the other… and it is entitled:

Things You Should Know About Jogging, Especially If You Are A Cow.

  1. There is no shame in jogging slowly. Take it from me, the one who is blistering the asphalt with a hot 12-minute mile. That crackle you hear is not the sound of eggs frying in my footprints… it’s more likely the sound of my joints. But hey… I’m doing it. And thanks to the well-conceived structure of this training program, I’m doing it for about 30 minutes at a time now. A far cry from where I began, when jogging 60 seconds was a challenge.
  2. Don’t look at the top of the hill. I learned this first from my experience with riding my bike in the Kentucky countryside around my home. If you look up the hill to see where you have to get to, it can be disheartening to the point where you might quit. But, if you keep your head down and focus on the pavement immediately before you, you won’t see the incline and it’s easier to forge ahead.
  3. Find a running buddy. Or three or four. I admit that it can be hard to find someone to physically run with you, whose schedule and pace are similar to your own… and for the most part, it’s probably easier for me to run alone. BUT… find someone else who runs that you can talk about your workouts with. And in the case of C25K, it’s easy enough to go online and find several others who are doing the program on the same schedule as you. Even though we’ve never met, it’s been fun keeping up with Vicki, Elizabeth, Celeste, and others who are all in the Facebook C25K group. Also, if it weren’t for them, there would probably be nobody reading this little blog ๐Ÿ™‚
  4. It’s OK if it’s not your favorite thing. While I do enjoy the feeling of accomplishment after a jogging workout is over, I’m not ready to say that running is my new favorite pastime. But, it’s something I can do, that I know is good for me, that doesn’t require special equipment or gym memberships to accomplish. Some days I like it better than others. I wonder sometimes how much more enjoyable it might be when the weather is warmer in the spring or summer. I can’t wait to find out.

I’ve had several people ask me, “Laura, you’ve completed Couch-to-5K, what’s next for you?” I would answer “I’m going to Disney World!” except that I already did that last year. So here’s a more accurate answer: I don’t know! I’ve “graduated” from the training program as far as jogging time is concerned, but I’ve still got a little way to go before I attain the full 5K distance.

For now, I plan to continue jogging at least 3 times a week, in hopes of increasing my speed (yeah, right) or my endurance (more likely) to the point of jogging a full 5K without stopping.ย  If I accomplish that, then I might look into “Gateway to 8K,” or something similar.

Or, I might just bask in the glory of being a 5K runner for a good while. And what would be wrong with that? Because, as you may recall, 9 weeks ago I couldn’t jog one minute without wanting to stop for a nap. And it was embarrassing, having to make sure that there were pillows and blankets strewn about the park, so that I had plenty of places to pull over and doze.

NOW I just need the one pillow, and I can keep it in the car. Much less humiliating!

___

Congratulations to all my fellow C25Kers who are graduating today or this weekend. A HUGE shout-out goes to Vicki Capone, a cyber friend whom I met on Facebook, who lives back in my old stomping grounds of Montgomery County, Maryland. She graduated today by running a 5k with an amazing time of 32:29! Thanks for being a faithful blog reader, Vicki, and congrats on posting such a great time on your race. I think I hate you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

11 comments

  1. Congratulations on finishing the program! The prize is that you did it – no extra points awarded to anyone for finishing it faster than others!! I run at the same pace as you. I’m trying to go faster by redoing the program on the treadmill – but not sure I’ll be able to keep up the faster pace.

    I didn’t realize you used to live in Montgomery County! I grew up there! I used your playlist this morning – my first outside run since Thanksgiving weekend. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.


  2. Congratulations!! I totally understand what you are saying. I really wish I could take joy in running, but I just don’t. Let me swim, walk, hike, or bike and I’ll be perfectly happy. But I just haven’t found that runner’s bliss!


  3. Awwwww! Shucks. It has been a pleasure reading your blog. When I first started reading you were about 2 weeks behind me, yet we graduated on the same day. I’m a slow learner, what else can I say? I hope you continue to blog about running. I will be reading, no matter what the subject.


  4. Congratulations!!! Great job. It has been a pleasure reading about your progress.


  5. Way to go! You’ve done a great job! And, it is a LOT more fun to run in the spring around here, I promise! No shame in staying a 5K runner – I did it for about 8 years myself. And, if you ever want to run that 5K race, let me know – I’ll do it with you!


  6. Great job, Laura! I didn’t get to read every issue of the blog but I caught many. I must have missed the playlist one. How could you share that with me? I’ve had an Ipod for 2 years and still haven’t figured it out and want to try. I have gained back half of the weight that I lost last year and have to get back on track with eating right and exercise. Again, I’m so happy that you made your goal!
    Kathy


  7. Hi Laura! This is awesome and you should be very proud of yourself! I giggled at the mental image of pillows and blankets strewn around the park. I’m doing my training just around my neighborhood. I can just see a blanket & pillow in front of the school district’s central kitchen, one behind the Y, one in front of the senior assisted living facility … ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m so looking forward to writing my own Week 9, Day 3 blog! Hopefully, it’s only about 6 weeks away!!


  8. Awesome job Laura! Yay for finishing! Keep jogging!


  9. Great job…Thanks to your blog I have started and will begin week 3 tomorrow.


  10. Congrats on graduating, don’t know how I missed this posting. By the way I did 3.1 miles which included the warm up walking and 2 min cool down walking. I haven’t run the total 37 min. That is my next goal to do a 5k running 30 min. I was also running at about 2.7miles but then with the warm up walk included it was 3.1 miles! This week I will be running 30 min intervals and then next week begin the program over by jogging and running instead of walking and running to increase my speed and indurance.


  11. Yay!! So proud of you !! My Half marathon is on the 15th! Be sending good vibes out for me!



Leave a Reply

