h1

JogBlog: Week 5, Day 1

November 30, 2009

Chilly, damp, overcast. That’s what I woke up to this morning. Still, not as cold as a couple mornings last week, though.

Good old Robert Ullrey is quite the C25K Mix Master this week… since all three week 5 workouts are different, but there is only one podcast for the week, Robert works overtime to play the mix while giving the cues for each of the three different days’ intervals.

So today’s workout consisted of three 5-minute runs with 3-minute walks in between. Compared to last week’s 3- and 5-minute running intervals, it’s not too much of a stretch.

The first interval was slow. Or at least it felt that way. I try very hard to be deliberately slow at the beginning of the workouts, to be sure I don’t lose steam too early. I really am not sure what distance I am covering during a 5-minute run: possibly 1/3 mile? Oh it must be more than that, but I’m sure it’s not 1/2 mile, which is what the program suggests. At any rate, even at my slow pace, it still seemed like the first interval went by fairly quickly. Suddenly Robert was saying “ok Day 1! That was the end of your first 5-minute run!” And so I walked.

The second run was great! I don’t know why. It didn’t seem to go by as quickly as the first, but I felt good. I felt like there was a little more spring in my step, and I think I covered a bit more distance. I had to go uphill a bit and then I got to jog down Big Nasty Hill, which was great. As I came down, I saw a woman walking  the track ahead of me. I was sure she could hear me coming from a ways off (when a cow is running, you can hear the hooves beat the ground) and was probably wondering when I was going to finally pass her. A few yards off, I called ahead to her and said “I am going to take forever to pass you, because I am slow!” and she laughed and said that I was going faster than she was, so I should be proud!

The third interval was OK. I was definitely getting a little tired, but I knew I was going to finish. During these last several minutes of the podcast, Robert pops in a lot… first to cue me to run, then to cue the day 2 people that they are halfway through their last run, then to cue the day three people that they are done with their 20-minute run, then to finally let the rest of us know that our last run interval is complete and we can start to cool down. Phew! I finished on an uphill slope again, and it felt good when Robert finally told me to walk.

I only passed two “real” runners today, and I was in the midst of a running interval both times, so that was nice. My total distance from beginning of warm up to end of cool down was a little over 2 1/2 miles, I think. Not too shabby.

Wednesday will consist of two 8-minute runs with a walk in between. I’m sure that one will be challenging for me. I don’t even want to think about Friday yet!

2 comments

  1. You go girl!


  2. Put one foot in front of the other
    And soon you’ll be walking cross the floor
    Put one foot in front of the other
    And soon you’ll be walking out the door

    You never will get where you’re going
    If you never get up on your feet
    Come on, there’s a good tail wind blowing
    A fast walking (wo)man is hard to beat

    —-

    Laura, you’ll be blasting past most folks in a few months and they’ll be commenting on the “real” runner that left them in the dust. But, don’t get caught up in speed being the most important variable that makes someone a real runner. Regardless of how fast you go the benefits of getting out there and putting in the effort are worth it.



Leave a Reply

