h1

Running Cow

November 9, 2009

Got out to the park this morning for my first training workout for Couch-to-5K: Week Two. Last week went smoothly, so this was my big chance to move up to week two, day one… now with 50% longer jogging intervals! Whee!

Actually, it went well. Turns out that 90 seconds is only 30 seconds more than 60 seconds, did you know that? So I just turned on my iPod, hit “play” for the week 2 podcast, and listened to the cues for when to walk and when to jog.

As fate would have it, my second jogging interval found me squarely at the bottom of the Big Nasty Hill. But, I pressed on and slowly jogged up without stopping. [Yay, me!] By the time I came around to it again, I was at the end of my last walking interval, just before the very last jog. I figure that I just have to get used to it… there is really no way for me to avoid hills if I am going to walk or jog around where I live. In fact, training on those ever-present hills made a huge difference for me when I rode last summer in the MS150: Bike the Bluegrass. So I figure that learning to jog on hills will be good for me down the road. So to speak.

I don’t think I’ll ever get past the feeling of awkwardness when I run. I know that great runners are supposed to have long legs, not unlike those with which I have been blessed… but apart from that, I would say my physique is not exactly a runner’s physique. Talk to me again if I ever shed 20-30 lbs. Maybe at that point I will start to feel a little less like my self-given Indian name: “Running Cow.”

One comment

  1. I am so thrilled you are sharing your journey. I just recently found the facebook page for this program as well as the podcasts (thanks to you). I look forward to reading your posts. You self given indian name really made me laugh. Thanks for your efforts and sharing this with the world!



Leave a Reply

