h1

Whoohoooo! We did it :)

June 10, 2009

MSride09

We made it through the MS Ride last weekend! This is a picture from my camera phone of the two of us at the second rest stop on Saturday.

The ride was good, I made it through 114 miles all together (62 miles on day one, 52 on day two). I wasn’t sure how the second day would go, especially because the terrain between Frankfort and Lexington is more hilly than what we had the first day of the ride. But, I did it! And even though I was thinking on Sunday that I might never want to ride my bike again, I am already thinking about what other rides I can do in the future.

We even made it home in time to get a brief rest and get cleaned up before heading to our friend’s wedding that afternoon. Congratulations to Karin and LeAdam! We are so glad we got to be part of your big day. 🙂

Now, a new development: I found out that there is an official 2009 Bike The Bluegrass bike jersey that is awarded to any participants who raise $500 in donations. I managed to raise just over $300 before the event, and donations are still counted up through July 7… so, if any of you out there haven’t already donated and would like to help me win a bike jersey (I don’t have any jerseys, so I’m not one of the “cool kids” yet), please visit my online fundraising page and make a tax-deductible donation online. OR, you can mail me a check made out to the National MS Society, and I’ll turn it in. You’ll be helping a great cause, and you can help me get a nifty jersey commemorating the weekend that I biked more than I ever have before!

More details about the actual ride to come soon…

2 comments

  1. Congratulations to both of you for completing your targeted miles. And – what about a jersey for him too?


  2. this is a great shot of you both! congrats on the new distance you hit. Frankfort is definitely hilly, and not an easy ride for that high of mileage.



Leave a Reply

