h1

Weekend Update: We’re Ba-aack!

April 5, 2009

dsc_0141

Us, waiting to board “It’s a Small World.” Note that there is still some life left in our faces, as we had not yet heard the song approximately 2.3 million times in 20 languages. Oy!

News in brief: we got back to our house around 5 p.m. Saturday. The trip was great. We had a lot of fun. More detailed reports to follow this week, but for now I offer these tidbits:

Biggest Thrill: Tower of Terror. I rode a lot of great rides at Disney, but this one has to win as my favorite simply because I had never ridden any ride like it before, and it was very well done. A whole new, very intense experience for me! Wheeeee! I screamed. Hard. Like a girl. The man who sat in front of me is suffering hearing loss now, I am sure.

Biggest Disappointment: Near complete lack of character sightings. Not that we are “in” to all that stuff, really (after all, I have 10- and 12-year-old boys). But come on… I figured I might see Mickey or one of the “main” characters walking around somewhere on Disney at least ONCE during my week-long stay in “the World.”  The only characters we caught glimpses of out and about were that blue genie from “Aladdin,” and the Power Rangers (oh, PLEASE).

Best Food I ate this week: The grilled chicken salad at Roaring Fork Cafe in the Wilderness Lodge. Mind you, we did not do any table service dining (we were on the Quick Service meal plan) so we were not eating any gourmet food anywhere. But, wow! That salad was outstanding! I need to figure out how to recreate it at home. Yum!  And also, yum.

More details next time!

3 comments

  1. LOVE that you are getting on It’s a Small World! 😉


  2. I knew you would appreciate that tidbit of information! LOL.


  3. Disney has to keep the characters on a short leash lest they get mobbed. Plus if they were just loose in the park Disney couldn’t charge 40 bucks a head for Character Dining Experiences.



Leave a Reply

