h1

Wednesday Wild Card: I’ll Show You Mine if You’ll Show Me Yours!

January 20, 2009

Here’s a fun exercise that I came up with all by myself. I challenge you to publish in your blog (or, send me via blog comments, or via email or Facebook) a complete list of all the albums you have on vinyl. The rules are simple: you need to list everything. Don’t be selective in order to avoid embarrassment. Just lay it all out there!

When you read my list below, you will note that I am an avid collector of “Greatest Hits” collections.  I guess that means I’m too lazy to get to know many groups by anything more than their top songs.  Shameful, I know.  You will also surely see some odd entries that will make you scratch your head, like, “what was she thinking, buying that album?”  But, that’s the fun of doing this project!

So, here goes… [deep breath] I now present you my collection of vinyl record albums:

  • ABBA: The Singles
  • Air Supply: Greatest Hits
  • History of America|Greatest Hits
  • The Association: Greatest Hits
  • The Beatles: Love Songs
  • Pat Boone: Greatest Hits  (I know!)
  • Boston
  • Bread: Manna
  • Bread: Baby I’m-A Want You
  • Edie Brickell & The New Bohemians: Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars
  • Michael Card: Present Reality
  • The Carpenters: Close to You
  • The Cars: Greatest Hits
  • Peter Cetera: One More Story
  • Chicago: If You Leave Me Now
  • Chicago: 18
  • Chicago: 19
  • Chicago: Greatest Hits 1982-1989
  • The Chiffons: Best of the Chiffons
  • Nat King Cole: Best of
  • The Harry Connick, Jr. Trio
  • Crosby, Stills & Nash: So Far
  • Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: Déja Vu
  • Crosby, Stills & Nash
  • Crosby, Stills & Nash: Daylight Again
  • Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: American Dream
  • The Doobie Brothers: Minute by Minute
  • Eagles: Greatest Hits 1971-1975
  • Eagles: Greatest Hits Vol. 2
  • The Very Best of the Everly Brothers  (I know! I know!)
  • The Everly Brothers: 24 Original Classics
  • Dan Fogelberg: Netherlands
  • Dan Fogelberg: Greatest Hits ** This is the very first album I ever bought!
  • Dan Fogelberg: Souvenirs
  • Dan Fogelberg: Windows & Walls
  • Dan Fogelberg: Exiles
  • The Four Freshman: Voices and Brass
  • George Harrison: Best of Dark Horse 1976-1989
  • Herman’s Hermits: The Greatest Hits
  • The Hollies Greatest Hits
  • Indigo Girls
  • Al Jarreau: Breakin’ Away
  • Al Jarreau: L is for Love
  • Billy Joel: Greatest Hits
  • Billy Joel: The Stranger
  • Howard Jones: Dream Into Action
  • Howard Jones: Action Replay
  • Journey: Greatest Hits
  • Best of Kansas
  • Come Dancing with the Kinks: Best of the Kinks 1977-1986
  • Huey Lewis & The News: Fore!
  • Little River Band: Greatest Hits
  • The Manhattan Transfer: Brasil
  • The Manhattan Transfer: Vocalese
  • Johnny Mathis: Greatest Hits
  • Johnny Mathis: Heavenly
  • Bobby McFerrin: Simple Pleasures
  • The Monkees
  • Then and Now: Best of the Monkees
  • Anne Murray’s Greatest Hits
  • The Great Roy Orbison: All Time Greatest Hits
  • The Platters: Anthology
  • The Platters: More Encore of Golden Hits
  • The Police: Every Breath You Take | the Singles
  • Restless Heart: Wheels
  • Simon & Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits
  • Steely Dan: Greatest Hits
  • James Taylor: Greatest Hits
  • James Taylor: Never Die Young
  • Tchaikovsky: Nutcracker Suite
  • Best of 3 Dog Night
  • Toto: Fahrenheit
  • Toto: Past 2 Present 1977-1990
  • The Traveling Wilburys Vol. 1
  • The Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3
  • Randy Travis: Always & Forever

And there you have it. I hope you enjoyed this little peek into my music collection. If this exercise has raised some burning questions in your mind, like why does she have a Randy Travis album? or maybe who are “The Four Freshmen?” … well, I will gladly attempt to answer your inquiries… IF you are willing to share your own list of vinyl record albums 🙂

Now… let’s see yours!

3 comments

  1. When I was looking for high school photo albums the other day, I saw 2 big boxes marked “albums.” That would be vinyl albums, not photos. Whenever we have a garage sale, at least one customer will come and ask if we have any albums to sell. But truthfully, I’m not sure we would sell them because of their sentimental value. We have nothing to play them on, and they’ve been packed away for probably 15 years. I will say that the first album I ever bought was Cheap Trick’s Dream Police, and I think the last one was Paul Simon’s Graceland.


  2. You have an awesome collection–I can’t believe you have it alphabetized! My husband used to work for Columbia House so over the years we replaced the vinyl with cd’s…and now of course he puts everything on his ipod but I still like cd’s….

    So anyhoo, my list of albums is short–I only kept the Johnny Mathis Merry Christmas and Merry, Merry Christmas from Captain Kangaroo. WIsh I still had the Brady Bunch Christmas album….

    I’ve gotta pull some of this music out…going to get Little River Band now….


  3. Well… I only have it alphabetized so well because the other day I was cleaning out and moving our old entertainment center, and came across the albums and decided to organize them as I put them away again. That is how this whole thing got started 🙂

    I actually do still have my stereo to play them on. I haven’t in years, but I think I’m going to play some this week!



Leave a Reply

