h1

Thursday Snapshot: The Day I Left Home

January 14, 2009

sharpdressedman

Bethesda, MD — September 1989… I believe it was the 9th or 10th.

I had graduated college earlier in the year, and spent the summer being a complete slug up at the lake in Pennsylvania. Toward the end of the summer, I began to think about where I should go and what I should do, now that I was “all grown up.”

My first decision was that I wanted to move back to Johnson City where I’d gone to school, because at least I was familiar with the town, and it would be far enough away from home that I couldn’t go back every weekend to do laundry. Yes, I really did think these things. I was afraid that if I moved near home, I would just become a lazy sponge and never amount to anything.

I called my best friend Sarah Beth Simmons in Illinois, and asked if she was interested in moving down there with me. But as fate would have it, she had already been diligently searching for jobs and had landed one as a bank examiner with the FDIC. She was assigned to an office in Elizabethtown, Kentucky. So she asked ME if I would like to move in with her there. And I thought about it for, maybe 10 seconds, before I said SURE! Why not? What else do I have to do?

So, in the space of about 4 days, I came home from the lake, was introduced to my brand new car (a gift from my grandmother), loaded up all my worldly belongings, and headed for uncharted territory to the west. My Dad is shown here, standing in front of my packed-to-the-gills Celica, about to bequeath me my own personal chamois before I leave town… because keeping the car shiny is just that important in the Bennett family. That could also be why he was wearing a suit.

I had only been through Kentucky once, and I certainly did not know where Elizabethtown was… but, that is what maps are for! My parents were certain I would be back. I remember one of them describing my departure to someone else as an “exploratory mission.”

Somewhere deep down, though, I knew that I was heading off to my future.

Nineteen years, one husband and two boys later, I think I can say that I was right.

3 comments

  1. More, more!


  2. Yahoo! I made it in the blog. And here I am, still wandering from state to state!


  3. Laura, this is funny and sweet all wrapped up together. I love this story and the picture of your dad!



Leave a Reply

