h1

Boys in my ‘hood.

November 9, 2008

boyzindc-88

My college years were greatly enhanced by a certain group of guys… they were all from Oklahoma, and I think they all had gone to the same small high school together. It started with the Harper brothers (Darren a year or two ahead of me, and Craig in my same class) and then the next year they brought a couple more friends, and then the NEXT year another one… eventually the school was crawling with Okies!

I adored every one of them. They were all tall! And they were all friendly. And they were all willing to hang out with me. So… what’s a girl to do?

I’ll tell you what I did. I brought them home with me!

I believe it was our senior year, most likely over fall break. I am not sure exactly how I organized this trip, nor am I sure what my parents must have been thinking to give the go-ahead. But I told Mom to stock up on Mountain Dew and Reeses’ cups (which she did), and Craig, Darren, Freddy and I piled into Craig’s Buick Skylark and drove from Tennessee to my hometown of Bethesda, MD for a long weekend. That’s right… I brought home not one… not two… but THREE fine young men to visit my parents.

Now, before I go too far stringing everyone along… all of these guys were, I believe, dating other girls at the time of this trip! And while I am quite certain I had a crush on each one of them at some point during our college careers, we were well past all that at this point. This was just a fun weekend with friends! Nonetheless, I was amused when my preacher interrogated me after seeing us all sitting together in church on Sunday.

I don’t remember all the details of the weekend. I know we did a good bit of sightseeing downtown. A lot of walking from monument to monument, historic site to historic site. At one point, I think it was Freddy who exclaimed over having seen his very first homeless person. I recall driving around through DC at night, running a few red lights and committing a few other traffic violations because I was so distracted by all the craziness coming from the guys in the car. We took a lot of photos, many of which came out poorly because I had no flash. But we had fun. I don’t remember all we did, but I remember the fun.

At some point I snapped this picture of the guys in front of the White House. It’s one of my all-time favorite photographs. As we walked away we noticed a man in a trenchcoat following us for a while. I am still convinced that he was a government agent who felt we were a threat to national security.

I don’t know… you be the judge…

boyzinthehouse-88

4 comments

  1. Are you sure Celeste didn’t rub off on you JUST a LITTLE bit???? LOL


  2. “And while I am quite certain I had a crush on each one of them at some point during our college careers, we were well past all that at this point. ” I love that. Don’t you wish we had digital cameras back then? Still, your photos are quite good! I didn’t know you were from DC. You’ll have to give me travel tips when we finally make it there.


  3. Susie… ha, ha! Wow. Yes, I am sure 🙂

    Sarah… I need to go back to DC myself, now that the boys are older (my parents left the area in 2002). I will give you this advice right off the bat: get a GOOD pair of walking shoes, and take the subway as much as possible!


  4. This story had me howling! It sounds like you could write a great screenplay for some cheesy college comedy movie and it could go straight to DVD. A cult classic in the making! Funny, but I don’t recall your Mom telling me about this.



Leave a Reply

