h1

You’d think I enjoyed cooking or something.

October 7, 2008

I make good turkey burgers.

My kids think so, anyway. And so does Glenn.

This evening I whipped up a batch because it had been a while since we’d had them. And while I was cooking them, I thought they looked so good that I ought to take a picture of them and post it here. So with the granola recipe yesterday and then this recipe today… I guess it’s turning in to Food Week at the Doolittles’!

This is a recipe that I just kind of made up in my head one day, and I’ve played with it a little over the last few years trying to perfect it. I don’t know if it’s perfect yet, but it’s pretty darn good. Forgive me for not having exact amounts written down… when I cook I tend to do a lot of estimating along the way. Also, there may be a couple things about this recipe that make you scratch your head. Just roll with it, because the end result really is delicious.

“Who Gobbled Up All The” Turkey Burgers

  • two packages ground turkey breast (roughly 2.25-2.5 lbs total)
  • ~3/4 can fat free condensed cream of chicken soup
  • maybe 1/2 C or so of bread crumbs or Pepperidge Farm herb seasoned stuffing mix, crushed fine
  • shredded parmesan cheese, maybe about 1/2 C, or to taste
  • parsley or cilantro flakes because it makes you look like a gourmet
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients with your hands in a large mixing bowl. The mixture will be very sticky and soft… you will wonder if it’s really going to work, and how you will get your hands clean again?  But it will work. And the sink is right there in the kitchen, so you can wash up afterward. It’s OK, really. If you are a big scaredy cat, you can tweak the amounts of bread crumbs and soup to adjust the texture a bit.

For best results, fry them up in a non-stick pan (spray it with a little oil even if you’re using teflon) over medium-high heat. Or higher if you like. I won’t tell you how to cook things! Just know that it’s turkey, so you don’t want to eat it when it’s pink in the middle. They are more tender than anything you will get in a restaurant, so turn them carefully the first time. If you are patient and work hard and stay in school, you can end up with them looking a beautiful golden brown as in the photo above.

Serve them up to your family, who will rave about how delicious they are, and what a wonderful person you are for making them.

A couple notes: these work great in buns, but I love to eat my burgers “nekkid” and these are so tender that they work really well that way. I usually serve them up with some sort of rice and broccoli on the side. Also, I have done a version that has an outstanding flavor, using some regular mayonnaise in place of some of the cream soup. I still make it that way sometimes, just depending on the mood. And finally… when I say ground turkey breast, I mean just that… it’s worth it to buy the white meat, not just run-of-the-mill ground turkey.

Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. These sound fabulous but with Jackson’s allergies, I’ve stopped “adding” things into meats unless they’re on his ok list. Think meatloaf now with oats instead of bread crumbs or crackers, etc etc!!!!

    Love your gourmet line. You’re hilarious.


  2. I’ve been using ground turkey for chili and “more” casserole, both really good. Now this recipe sounds like a winner. The ingredients are all in my kitchen waiting to be tried…maybe tonight. You may not be a genuine gourmet, but who cares when your family loves your food. Thanks!


  3. Well, your turkey burgers are a hit here in Hilo too. Everyone including Sasha enjoyed them for supper tonight. Thanks again. Maybe you should consider a recipe exchange….



Leave a Reply

