h1

Brent Turns 12, and Other Happenings

September 26, 2008

Today is Brent’s birthday… the big 1-2.  I threatened to wake him up this morning at 3:55 a.m. in celebration of that time a dozen years ago when he kept me up all night at the hospital here in Lexington. (I didn’t wake him up, though… I miss too much sleep as it is!)

As luck would have it for Brent this year, today there is no school in Fayette County. We took a snow day because they heard that it might get cold later this winter. Just kidding. So this morning we all went to Bob Evans for breakfast. Because the Cracker Barrel isn’t finished being constructed yet.

Tonight for Brent’s birthday, he is having some of his friends from the neighborhood over and they will have a campfire in our fire pit to cook hot dogs and s’mores, then the boys are going to camp in tents in our back yard. This is what he requested for his birthday and I am only too happy to oblige, because this kind of party is much more appealing to me (and my bank account!) than yet another trip to Gattitown or something of that nature.

In other news, Brent opened up his very own savings account at the bank last week, and he made his second deposit this morning. He is saving up to buy an iPod, and I’m impressed with his determination to put away his allowance money rather than spend it on candy at the nearby Kroger.

A ton of freelance work  has fallen in my lap in the last week or so. When it rains, it pours! I can’t complain too much since I had wanted to pick up a few extra paying jobs to offset a lot of the free work I do. But due to all the extra work, I haven’t had the time to sit down and write much on the blog. So that is my excuse for the lack of activity here recently. But prepare yourselves for another onslaught of old photos and the stories to go along with them, coming soon!

2 comments

  1. That does indeed sound like a fabulous birthday party! Just wait a few years and it gets even easier: money and a movie!


  2. And 1 more year until he is a teenager. May the force be with you Jedi mother.



Leave a Reply

