h1

You Are So Proud of Me!

August 31, 2008

I rode thirty miles on my bike yesterday. Let me clarify: I pedaled thirty miles on my bicycle yesterday. I do not want any one to be confused and think that I took a ride on Glenn’s motorcyle!

Things I learned on yesterday’s training ride:

  1. Thirty miles is a long way.
  2. Hills make it a longer way.
  3. I like Gatorade.
  4. Gatorade is too precious to squirt at rogue bike-chasing dogs.
  5. Barking at the dogs works pretty well.
  6. Those “granny gears” on the bike serve a purpose.
  7. I am officially a “granny” when it comes to hills.
  8. If you look up the hill, it always looks steep.
  9. If you look at the road right in front of your tire, the hill isn’t as steep anymore.
  10. The holes in your helmet are not big enough to get your fingers in if you have an itch.

So, I’m feeling slightly more prepared for the trek… but I’m still iffy on whether to do the long ride on Saturday. After yesterday, I would almost say that 30 miles is my limit – so the shorter ride would be the one for me. But then again, if I can do 30 miles in less than 3 hours, with only a limited amount of training… surely I can force myself to tough it out for 60 or so, with some good rest stops and no particular time limit to complete the distance. Right?

Here’s your chance everyone… tell me I can do it!

5 comments

  1. Absolutely, we know you can!


  2. With no time limit, I say it’s a no-brainer. Go for it! It may be wise to pack a small emergency road kit with such important items as: extra water/Gatoraid, high energy snack bar, and a 10 foot tow rope. That’s what I’d need.


  3. Sure you can. Take your time, look at the pavement, not the top of the hills. Like I know anything about biking, but I know you can if you decide to do it. Remember that bike ride with Dad and George when you were about 6 or 7, on a no gear bike, and you went from Glenwood Rd. past the airport, and back…Dad says you all went to Mt. Vernon….


  4. Suck it up girl. GO GO GO!!


  5. I’m a wimp. Do the 30 miler. And the six miler guy would say to take a tire patch kit.



Leave a Reply

