h1

Forty-Five Years.

June 17, 2008

Happy anniversary to my parents, who are celebrating 45 years of marriage today!

“Celebrating” means… let’s see… Dad is probably taking his daily 17-mile bike ride. Mom is tending to her vast flower garden. They are both frequently checking the level of chlorine in the pool.

Eventually Dad will spend some time polishing his cars while listening to some big band music or some oldies on the radio. Or maybe it will be classical. Whatever it is, I can assure you of one thing: it will be LOUD. WHAT?! WHAT DID YOU SAY?!?!!? I CAN’T HEAR YOU OVER VIVALDI! I’ll just never understand these kids today. 😉

Between the biking and the gardening and the loud music, I am sure that my parents are also bracing themselves for next week. Because next week my two boys are going to spend some time up at Grandma and Grandpa’s ALL BY THEMSELVES. And when that happens, Mom and Dad may regret that they ever got married, because that is the event which eventually precipitated these grandchildren who will come and do things like sit on the furniture in wet bathing suits and eat up all their potato chips while watching Cartoon Network.

So happy anniversary, Mom and Dad. Have a wonderful day and remember that I love you… I said “I LOVE YOU!”… TURN THAT MUSIC DOWN!!!!

3 comments

  1. Happy Anniversary to all of you!


  2. Happy Anniversary! I remember well that day. First, the college graduation ceremony and then to the church for the wedding ceremony. I also remember feeling that odd human emotion at the church of crying from being happy. Watching these two begin their lives together was special.


  3. Happy Anniversary! It’s hard to believe it was really that long ago.



Leave a Reply

