h1

I Am the Bird Lady!

June 12, 2008

This year for the first time ever, I bought a hummingbird feeder. I have always been convinced that hummingbirds would probably never come to my house, but I always wanted to try it. Every year I would think about it, but I had heard that you need to get the feeder put out early in the season, so that they will find it and then keep coming back. And I would think about it in the middle of the summer or fall or something, when the birds had surely established all their little feeding spots around town.

At the beginning of May I bought a feeder and made some nectar and filled it up and waited. And for a month or so, as far as I could tell, nothing happened. Except that maybe the nectar evaporated slowly over time. The feeder is right outside my kitchen window, which I look out of often, and I never saw any sign of a hummingbird.

Until yesterday!

I was washing something in the sink and happened to look up, and lo and behold there was a little guy, perched on the feeder (not hovering) taking a little sip. As soon as I really saw him, he flew away. I thought, hmmm… well I may never see another one, this may be a fluke. But, I decided to take the feeder down, give it a cleaning and re-fill it since it was nearly empty.

Earlier today I saw the hummingbird again! And then about 20 minutes later, I was in the kitchen again and I told my oldest son “hey, I saw a hummingbird at the feeder today.” As I was talking, I was looking out the window at my other bird feeders, set up down in the yard. I have two big seed feeders and a bowl that I put squirrel food in, and then a bird bath. Well, I was talking to my son and watching a dove take a bath (yes, the birds really do use my bird bath… I have seen several use it) and Brent said to me “is that the hummingbird?” For some reason I thought he was talking about the dove I was watching in the birdbath. So I said “no” and then he said “is that it? It looks like a hummingbird.” So I gave him a puzzled look and said “what are you looking at?” and just then I saw the hummingbird on the other side of the feeder from where I was looking. He took off as soon as he saw me, but I watched him land on a nearby branch. So I am convinced that he is familiar with my feeder and will keep coming back!

I haven’t had the camera handy to catch a photo of him yet, but as soon as I do, I plan to post it.

Hooray for me! I am the Bird Lady!

3 comments

  1. I’m glad the hummingbird(s) have found your feeder! I wasn’t sure if they would when I saw where it was going. Isn’t it neat to watch them and get a glimpse now and then?


  2. How cool is that?!?! A little flying friend! My kids would just be loving that. 🙂


  3. Be careful! Bird watching – and feeding -can be habit forming.



Leave a Reply

