h1

Sharing the spotlight.

March 11, 2008

Ladies and gents… for the first and last time together on stage… the Bennett Kids!

reflections1976.jpg

This photo from June 1976 shows my brother and I both on stage in a school play. The play was called “Reflections in Wonderland” or something like that… a parody of Alice in Wonderland. George is in the center playing the Cheshire Cat. I am the one in the Dog costume, kneeling and facing him.

The play took place at Bradley Elementary School in Bethesda, Maryland. It was a musical. I don’t remember the whole storyline, it was some sort of bizarro-Wonderland tale. I do remember the lyrics to a couple of the songs that were in it:

Statistics prove, prove that you’ve, ONE birthday
ONE birthday every year

But there are THREE hundred and sixty-four UN-birthdays
That is why we’re gathered here to cheer…

A very merry un-birthday to you, to you
A very merry un-birthday to you…

And then there was this brief song that this boy sang when he made his entrance. I can’t remember for sure but I think the boy was Jonathan Coss, who was older than me and I thought he was pretty cool. Anyway, he was dressed as a knight I think, and he came on stage and sang

Camelot
Camelot
I “cam” a lot of miles to be of service….

So you see, it was really something, this play. Non stop laughs generated by jokes that a lot of us grade schoolers didn’t understand.

I do remember that it was a LOT of fun to be in. My mom made our costumes. And later that year, for Halloween, I already had a costume ready to use! [I came to school for the Halloween parade with my Dog costume on, embellished with a metal choke collar around my neck and a large Milk-Bone that I carried with me. And which I ate a bite of, oh yes I did. Nutty, with a piquant aftertaste.]

George’s and my humble beginnings as actors — hosting the nightly “Mmm” and “Mmm” show in the bathroom mirror as we brushed our teeth — had seemed to promise a great future in entertainment. But alas, “Reflections” would turn out to be the end of our budding careers. Soon after the play ended its run, we parted amicably over creative differences. Isn’t it always that way?

3 comments

  1. Laura, I love seeing all these old pictures and reading your memories and thoughts on these things. When did you take all these old pictures home? I haven’t missed them so I’m glad somebody has looked through them. Mom


  2. you’re hilarious


  3. You just needed a good agent…



Leave a Reply

