h1

A few of my favorite things.

March 6, 2008

glenwood-model.jpg

This is where I lived from 1971 until June of 1979. Well… ok… I didn’t live exactly in this house. This is a model that my Dad constructed a long time ago (really not sure when). He built it out of cardstock and contruction paper. There is tissue paper in the windows and there are teeny tiny pieces of tin foil cut out and glued onto the door to represent the metal mail slot and the door handle. The shutters and the roof have all faded significantly… the roof would have been black and the shutters and door were green. But it really does look like 5706 Glenwood Road! Just to prove it, here is a photograph of the front of that house (in winter 1976):

5706glenwood.jpg

At one point, I think Dad used to set the little model up at Christmas time. There is a hole in the back of it to allow room to put some lights inside so that they would glow through the tissue windows.

When my parents moved from Bethesda back in 2002, I came back home one weekend and helped sort through boxes and boxes of old stuff, grabbing up any mementos that had some sentimental value for me. (Among the things I took home with me were my Fisher-Price toys… read about the dollhouse here.) When I came across the little house, I had to have it. It’s been almost 30 years since we left that place, but seeing the model on a shelf in my room brings back nice memories.

_______

Here is another odd item that I cherish:

grandmas-cardbox.jpg

This little box used to reside at my Grandma Hein’s house in South Euclid, Ohio. The lid to the box says “Bond Street” and I’m not sure what the box was originally for… probably some item of jewelry? But I always knew that this was where Grandma kept a deck of cards along with some dice and a handful of pennies. Doesn’t seem like much, but it really reminds me of her.

Grandma and her sister Sophie used to play a lot of different games of cards. Mostly they played all different kinds of solitaire. At least that is how I recall it. Some of the games involved dice, and some might have involved playing for pennies (gambling! MY GRANDMA WAS A GAMBLER?!?) I used to love sitting at Grandma’s kitchen table, watching and learning how to play many different games. And sometimes I just liked to open the box and feel the pennies. Oh come on, you know what I mean. When there is a big pile of something – coins, gravel, sand, marbles – you know it’s hard to resist just picking it up and letting whatever it is run through your fingers! Sometimes I would stack the pennies, or count them over and over. Sort them by date. Look for wheat pennies.

Grandma had several different decks of playing cards. I always liked hers, she seemed to have ones with very interesting artwork on them (not just the standard Bicycle art we all have seen). And they were worn and soft on the edges from lots of use. This particular deck, the one that eventually got handed down to me with the box, was one of my favorites. I like the fruit pictures and the color scheme.

______________

Sometimes I look at the model that Dad built, and I look at the little window that represented my room, and I just think about the great years we spent in that house. And every now and then I pull the little box of pennies off my shelf and open it up and just run my fingers through the coins. I pick up the cards and let them slide around in my hands a bit, and I remember Grandma sitting at the table in her warm kitchen, playing solitaire.

Years from now when I am gone, there will be a box somewhere filled with odd items like the Bond Street box and the model of the Glenwood Road house. And someone will look in the box and see these odd things, and pronounce them to be “junk.” And I suppose they will be junk at that point… but to me, right now, they are treasures.

One comment

  1. Laura, very nicely written & evocative, thanks.



Leave a Reply

