h1

Scary Shirts.

January 4, 2008

jawsshirts.jpg

The original “Jaws” movie came out in 1976. I remember that I desperately wanted to see it… not sure exactly why, but I have long had a certain attraction to scary movies. And what could be scarier than a man-eating shark?

My parents were wise enough not to let my brother and I see the movie… at least not during its first run. (We saw it when it returned to the theater, either later that year or the following year. I was done for as soon as the head rolled out of the boat). Instead, they let us get the t-shirts we are modeling above. I can’t speak for George, but I was pretty proud of that shirt. I thought it was VERY cool. I’m not sure what ultimately happened to it, but I held on to it for a long, long time.

Things to note about the photo: don’t you love those old shots where people are looking right in to the sun with their faces all squinty? My hair is still very long here… the following school year was when I got it cut short the first time. Also… in this photo, I am 8 1/2 years old, and my brother would have just turned 12. Three and a half years of age difference! Yes, I have ALWAYS been tall.

2 comments

  1. JAWS is cool. But, Laura darling, I’m still waiting for a photo with the butterfly collar! 🙂 hehehe!


  2. Vanessa… ha! I don’t think I ever actually had one of those shirts, but I know I knew people who did. One day I will show you a photo of me in my Raggedy Ann dress!



Leave a Reply

